Sports Update

Sadio Mane wins African player of the year Award

Sadio Mane wins African player of the year Award

At the Confederation of African Football (Caf) awards ceremony in Rabat, Morocco, Senegal’s Sadio Mane was named African Footballer of the Year for the second consecutive year.

In this year’s Africa Cup of Nations final, Senegal defeated Egypt in a shootout and won the trophy for the first time thanks to Mane’s game-winning penalty.

The honors were reinstated after being suspended for three years due to the coronavirus pandemic, and Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala also kept the title she won in 2019.

Mane, 30, stated as he accepted his award, “I am very, very glad to earn the trophy this year.

Mane defeated former Liverpool teammate Salah, whose Egypt squad lost the final in February, as well as fellow countryman and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy.

Mane, who also assisted Senegal in qualifying for the World Cup and won two domestic trophies with Liverpool, said, “I thank the Senegalese people and dedicate this trophy to the young of my nation.”

Senegal won five awards in all in seven men’s categories, including Mane’s, making it a memorable night for the country.

Pape Sarr was named young player of the year, while another Senegalese, Pape Ousmane Sakho, won best goal for his overhead kick for Tanzanian team Simba. Veteran Senegalese manager Aliou Cisse won coach of the year, and his team was named men’s team of the year.

ALSO CHECK:Juventus sign Brazilian defender Gleison Bremer

The president of the Senegal football organization, Augustin Senghor, stated, “We waited a long time for this Nations Cup.” “To all the teams that haven’t yet won (the tournament), we are a positive example.”

Sarr won an award previously won by Salah after his season on loan with French club Metz, beating out Red Bull Salzburg’s Ivorian Karim Konate and Manchester United’s Tunisian Hannibal Mejbri. Sarr made only one appearance during Senegal’s historic Nations Cup victory.

Numerous legendary players from the African game were there for the awards ceremony at the Mohamed VI complex, including Daniel Amokachi, Lucas Radebe, Jay-Jay Okocha, Geremi Njitap, and the Senegalese duo of El Hadji Diouf and Khalilou Fadiga, who joined Mane in celebrating on stage.

Wydad Casablanca, the reigning African and Moroccan champions, won club of the year for the second consecutive year, and Egypt goalkeeper Mohamed El Shenawy, whose Nations Cup was cut short due to injury, was awarded interclub player of the year.

Related Articles

Back to top button